Transplants & Pets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transplants & Pets

During a discussion of transplants my neph told me that I would'nt be allowed to have pets. First time I heard that one.anyone else hear of that?

Hi!

I was not told that I can't have pets but was told I needed to be away for from them for 8 weeks. I was home a week when they were allowed home again. I was also told to keep away from potted plants for a prescribed amount of time. I have cats, no problem there. I was told to wear a mask in public for 8-12 weeks. I was told I could quit wearing a mask 2 weeks after arriving home but keep some handy to wear if it is a particularly bad part of the season and I can feel the germs from other people coughing bouncing off my body. I do sometimes still wear one when I am in large groups. I work as a receptionist, face to face with clients and so far, 2 years, have not had even a cold. Very fortunate indeed. Maybe my story is unusual but I have always felt that not babying myself has helped alot. Every transplant team has guidelines and I would surely adhere to your's.
    "Within every adversity lies a slumbering possibility"
    Linda
    Tx: 7/28/2005
    St. Louis University Hospital

Comment

They told you 8 weeks and then changed it to one week?

Comment

This is first time I hear this. Is this only for transplant recipients or does it apply to home dialysis patients as well? Check out my two doggies while having dialysis at home..

My 2 Hua Huas..
        My Blog Site
        Http://www.dailyhemo.org
        sigpic

Comment

I think it was just for transplant, but I remember meeting with the transplant coordinator earlier this year, and she asked me about pets( 1 cat and 1 iguana) and I dont think she even mentioned getting rid of them.

Comment

nice pups, gus. about the same size as "iggy"

Comment