New -need help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New -need help

My dialysis center does not use Heprin anymore...new company decision...i used to have to get this at each dialysis so i would not clot...now i am back to clotting up each session. i am fairly new to dialysis, just since march. Any help on what to do here? i can not change locations and doctors all from center.

Thanks

Re: New -need help

I'm sorry to hear this. The new bundling program sure made things very difficult.

Do you have a regular nephrologist who can prescribe it for you. If they have a drs prescription they can't deny you the Heparin.

I hope this gets resolved soon!!
    I received the GIFT OF LIFE on Nov 9, 2010 thanks to my wonderful donor Laura and her family!

Comment

I guess that I am lucky to be in the area I am in, everyone at my Center gets Heparin. We even have what is called the "five minute rule", which is were a person MUST get their Heparin at least 5 minutes before a treatment. The amount is prescribed by my neph. I used to clot the Dialysis machine's a a regular basis and that is not fun to go through. I would sure be talking to your Doctor and get it prescribed, as the previous person stated, it is your right to get the medication you need. Hope it works out for you.

Bill

Comment

sorry for that. I'm a dialysis nurse for davita but we still give heparin. Both marina and wswamm have good points. Dr.'s order will relieve that issue with no questions asked. Also what access do you currently have? Catheter or fistula? CVCs (catheters) will tend to clot off way easier than accesses in the arms. To put it plainly, CVCs suck any way you look at it. The 5min rule for heparin is per our protocal. That should be done by everyone who is on heparin. That's really good that you know that wswamm

Comment